Board of Directors

Pennsylvania Resources Council (PRC) is led by a volunteer Board of Directors who represent a diverse group of industries, geographies, and personal interests. During their two-year term, Board members guide the work of PRC and ensure the organization continues to protect the resources of Pennsylvania for future generations.

PRC programs are managed by professional staff working from offices in Newtown Square (East) and Pittsburgh (West). PRC staff are leaders, as well as innovators, in the environmental field. They deliver a wide range of programs related to resource management, conservation, and waste reduction strategies.

PRC Leadership & Board of Directors – November 2017

Executive Committee of the Board of Directors

 JOHN FILLO – President

John is a Principal Consultant with Trinity Consultants in their EHS Performance & Risk Management business.  His international consulting career spans more than 35 years, covering EHS compliance and risk management, EHS&Q management systems, remediation program development and management, environmental financial accounting and auditing, transaction due diligence, business sustainability, climate change strategy and program development, procurement contracting, and business and financial consulting.  John is a Certified Professional Environmental Auditor and is a Lead Assessor in ANSI’s GHG Accreditation program.  He holds a BE in Chemical Engineering from Pratt Institute, and ME and PhD degrees in Chemical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University. He has been a member of the PRC Board of Directors since 2007.

WINIFRED M. BRANTON – Vice President

Winifred is an attorney with Branton StrategiesLLC and consultant to the Pennsylvania Housing Alliance, a nonprofit organization, working on its land bank project. She previously was with Land Air Water Legal Solutions located in Berwyn, PA, concentrating on environmental litigation and environmental regulatory compliance, with extensive litigation experience in PA and NJ federal and state courts. Previously she was affiliated with BROOMAN BUZZELL & GARBER, an Environmental and Land Use Boutique Law Firm, and starting her career with the PA DEP. She is an engaged community volunteer with significant experience and proficiency in fundraising, communications, and strategic planning.  She earned a B.A. in Urban Studies from the University of Pennsylvania and a J.D. from the Temple University School of Law.

SCOTT R. DISMUKES – Vice President

Scott is a Member with Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC. His legal practice spans 30 years and concentrates on environmental litigation and counseling, including litigation compliance and environmental business counseling to industrial clients under all federal and various states’ environmental laws.  He is chair of the firm’s Energy Practice Group and Marcellus Practice Group. Scott is Mayor of Ben Avon Heights Borough and former Chairman of the Avonworth Municipal Authority. He holds a BA in Political Science, Public Administration and Psychology from Michigan State University, and a JD from the University of Pittsburgh Law School.

DAVID A. SHARP – Vice President
DAVID E. HESS – Secretary

David is the former Secretary of the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection, and has served in state government for over 28 years holding positions in the Pennsylvania Senate and the former Department of Environmental Resources. He is now Director of Policy and Communications with the governmental affairs firm of Crisci Associates based in Harrisburg.  While serving as Secretary, he helped guide the successful rescue of nine miners trapped in the Quecreek Mine in Somerset, Pennsylvania in 2002 and the environmental response to the crash of Flight 93 on September 11, 2001.  David holds a BA in Urban Studies from Shippensburg University and an MA in Urban & Regional Planning from the University of Illinois.   David joined the PRC Board in 2005.


Walt is Director, Community Growth Fund / Renewable Manufacturing Gateway and Director, Community Development, JARI. He utilizes his non-profit expertise to connect financial, technical, and governmental resources in support of client and organizational objectives. Walt previously has worked as the Midwest Regional Vice President at The SCA, Inc., Executive Vice President for WEG, Inc., and Senior Scientist at the Center for Hazardous Material Research. He is the Treasurer of Both Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Garden and sits on the Board of Directors for the Outdoor Classroom, a nature based educational program of Boyce Mayview Park, Construction Junction and the Regional Environmental Education Center of Upper St. Clair. Mr. Burlack holds a B.S. in Biology from the University of Pittsburgh and a MPM (Masters of Public Management) from Heinz College, Carnegie Mellon University.

 JAY P. VASELL – At-Large

Jay serves as Senior Vice President and Financial Advisor of the Delaware Valley Financial Group, LLC in Conshohocken, PA.  His duties include insurance/investment planning and he serves as a licensed insurance broker and registered representative providing accounting, investment and consulting services, including market research.  He also served as former commissioner for Ridley Township.  Jay is a graduate of Rider University, Lawrenceville, NJ with a B.S. degree in Marketing.

TOMLINSON FORT – Past President

Tom heads national petroleum technical services and environmental forensics programs at Apex Companies, LLC. From 1994 to 2003 he was Sunoco’s corporate Environmental Services Director and formerly held positions as Principal Scientist and Chief Operations Officer with Integrated Science & Technology, Inc. and as Regional Environmental Compliance Manager and Groundwater Remediation Specialist for Chevron Oil Company. In addition to PRC, Tom serves on the Boards of the Pennsylvania Environmental Council and the Water Resources Association of the Delaware River Basin and is a past representative on the Pennsylvania Business Roundtable’s Energy and Environment Committee. He holds a M.S. Degree in Geological Engineering from the University of Missouri and is a Graduate of Franklin and Marshall College in Lancaster.

Board of Directors

DIANE ALWINE – Environmental Management Professional & Lebanon Valley College


BRIAN J. CLARK, ESQ. – Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney, PC

ADAM CUTLER, ESQ.  Fox Rothschild, LLP.


ROB EPPLEY – Safety-Kleen

THOMAS FALCONE, DBA – Nascent Services Company; Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

RONALD G. FENDER – AECOM Corp., Northeast Region

MIKE GABLE – Construction Junction


MEGHAN KELLY – Covenant Bank

NICHOLAS KENNEDY, ESQ. – The Minto Law Group



PATRICIA LOVELACE – Dollar Energy Fund

GEORGE MATYSIK – Philadelphia Parks Alliance

CHARLES F. MCELWEE – Pennsylvania Dental Association

PAUL M. SCHMIDT, ESQ. – Post & Schell, P.C.


JASON P. WIRICK – Phipps Conservatory


Directors Emeritus

RUTH BECKER   Former Executive Director, PRC

HOWARD WEIN, ESQ. Past President PRC

*ERNESTA D. BALLARD, Past President, Pennsylvania Horticultural Society

*CYNTHIA CALHOUN, Former President, PRC

*LOUISE D. CURDY President, Sharon Hill Shade Tree Commission

*HILDA V. FOX, Founder, PRC

*HENRY HARRAL, Former Pennsylvania Secretary of Highways

*DOROTHY HERMANI Former President, Garden Club Federation of PA


*ROBERT PIERSON, Former Executive Director, Bucks County Conservancy

*I.B. SINCLAIR, ESQ. , Former President, PRC

*WILBUR C. WEBB, Former PRT director